Action Alert- West Virginia In God We Trust Bill

On January 22, House Bill 4225 was introduced to the West Virginia House of Delegates. The bill seeks to amend the code of West Virginia to include provisions related to “patriotic displays at public buildings.”

We want you to send a letter to your delegate in the West Virginia House of Delegates requesting an amendment to HB 4225 that will allow for the display of E Pluribus Unum as an alternative to “In God We Trust.” HB 4225 is currently in the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Help us stand up against this bill.

Representative _________;

I am writing you today about House Bill 4225. The purpose of HB 4225 is to promote the phrase “In God We Trust” by amending the Code of West Virginia to include subsection 5-6-17, which allows for the display of both “In God We Trust” and POW-MIA flags.

As you may be aware, “In God We Trust” is a controversial motto, which to many gives the impression that belief in a higher power is necessary to be a patriotic American. Furthermore, this bill presents a false-dilemma: if a representative were to vote against HB 4225 because they feel “In God We Trust” excludes parts of their constituency, they will also, by default, be voting against displays that honor our veterans. Of course, one can be against the motto “In God We Trust” and still wish to honor our service members.

I therefore ask that you propose an amendment to HB 4225 to allow for the display of the original motto of the United States, E Pluribus Unum, or its English equivalent, Out of Many, One. Currently, HB 4225 states “The Legislature finds and declares that the national motto of “In God We Trust,” is an important part of our country’s history and heritage.” However, “In God We Trust” was not used as an official national motto until 1956 and did not appear on any American currency until 1863. E Pluribus Unum was chosen by the founders of the United States in 1776 and was meant to symbolize a great diversity of people joining together for one noble cause. This is our country’s true history and heritage.

I humbly ask that you propose the following amendment to HB 4225 (and change successive language in the bill as necessary to conform to this language):

“The Legislature finds and declares that the national mottos of ‘E Pluribus Unum’ and ‘In God We Trust’ are important parts of our country’s history and heritage.”

This will allow for more freedom of expression and sends a much more inclusive message to the people of West Virginia.

Thank you for your time,

Name

Phone Number

Address

Download a copy

Contact your Delegate
Name District Address Email Number
Pat McGeehan 1 Room 226E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 pat.mcgeehan@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3397
Mark Zatezalo 1 Room 224E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mark.zatezalo@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3120
Ryan Weld 2 Room 224E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3367
Shawn Fluharty 3 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3270
Erikka Storch 3 Room 202E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 erikka.storch@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3378
David Evans 4 Room 225E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 david.evans@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3151
Michael T. Ferro 4 Room 230E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3111
David Pethtel 5 Room 230E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 dave.pethtel@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3158
William R. Romine 6 Room 210E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 roger.romine@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3226
Lynwood Ireland 7 Room 200E-C Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3195
William Anderson 8 Room 242M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3168
Anna Border-Sheppard 9 Room 227E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 anna.border@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3136
Mike Azinger 10 Room 221E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3202
Frank Deem 10 Room 276M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 frank.deem@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3137
John R. Kelly 10 Room 221E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 john.kelly@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3394
Martin Atkinson III 11 Room 208E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 martin.atkinson@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3185
Steve Westfall 12 Room 204E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 steve.westfall@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3140
Scott Cadle 13 Room 223E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3118
Michael Ihle 13 Room 222E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 michael.ihle@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3146
Jim Butler 14 Room 222E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 jim.butler@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3199
Geoff Foster 15 Room 223E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3121
Sean Hornbuckle 16 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 sean.hornbuckle@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3395
Carol Miller 16 Room 240M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 carol.miller@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3176
Jim Morgan 16 Room 231E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 delegatejim@aol.coM(304) 340-3277
Doug Reynolds 17 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 delegatedoug@yahoo.coM(304) 340-3280
Matthew Rohrbach 17 Room 209E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 matthew.rohrbach@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3221
Kelli Sobonya 18 Room 207E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3175
Kenneth Hicks 19 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3155
Don Perdue 19 Room 230E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 don.perdue@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3355
Justin Marcum 20 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3126
Phyllis White 21 Room Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 phyllis.white@wvhouse.gov
Jeff Eldridge 22 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 jeff.eldridge@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3113
Michel Moffatt 22 Room 206E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 michel.moffatt@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3152
Joshua Nelson 23 Room 206E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 joshua.nelson@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3184
Rupert Phillips Jr. 24 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 rupert.phillips@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3174
Ralph Rodighiero 24 Room 2R Bldg. 1 900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ralph.rodighiero@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3297
Frank L. Blackwell 25 Room Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 frank.blackwell@wvhouse.gov
Clif Moore 26 Room 231E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 clif.moore@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3165
Joe Ellington 27 Room 215E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3269
Marty Gearheart 27 Room 200E-A Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3179
John Shott 27 Room 418M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 john.shott@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3252
Roy Cooper 28 Room 203E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 roy.cooper@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3119
John D. O'Neal IV 28 Room 246M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 john.oneal@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3164
Rick Moye 29 Room 2R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 rmoyewvhouse@yahoo.coM(304) 340-3162
Mick Bates 30 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mick.bates@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3180
Lynne Arvon 31 Room 211E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 karen.arvon@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3384
Tom Fast 32 Room 228E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 tom.fast@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3170
Kayla Kessinger 32 Room 227E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 kayla.kessinger@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3197
David G. Perry 32 Room 233E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 d.perry@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3337
Roger Hanshaw 33 Room 229E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3135
Brent Boggs 34 Room 258M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3142
Andrew Byrd 35 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3362
John B. McCuskey 35 Room 476M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3183
Eric Nelson 35 Room 462M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 nelson@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3230
Chris Stansbury 35 Room 209E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 chris.stansbury@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3340
Nancy Peoples Guthrie 36 Room 4R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3156
Larry L. Rowe 36 Room 230E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3287
Brad White 36 Room 204E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 brad.white@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3138
Mike Pushkin 37 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mike.pushkin@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3106
Patrick Lane 38 Room 400M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3252
Ron Walters 39 Room 212E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ron.walters@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3194
Tim Armstead 40 Room 228M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 armstead@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3210
Jordan Hill 41 Room 228E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 jordan.hill@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3352
George Amble4 42 Room 203E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 george.ambler@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3129
Ray Canterbury 42 Room 212E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3131
Denise L. Campbell 43 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd.E. Charleston WV 25305 denise.campbell@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3145
William G.Hartman 43 Room 231E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd.E. Charleston WV 25305 billhartman@suddenlink.net (304) 340-3178
Dana Lynch 44 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.  Charleston WV 25305 dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3916
Bill Hamilton 45 Room 216E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3167
Peggy Donaldson Smith 46 Room 6R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 delegatepeggysmith@msn.coM(304) 340-3123
Danny Wagner 47 Room 226E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 danny.wagner@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3398
Danny Hamrick 48 Room 208E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3141
Tim Miley 48 Room 264M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 tim.miley@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3240
Patsy Samuel Trecost II 48 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 patsy.trecost@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3102
Terry Waxman 48 Room 218E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3171
Amy Summers 49 Room 215E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 amy.summers@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3139
Mike Caputo 50 Room 258M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3249
Linda Longstreth 50 Room 6U-A Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3124
Tim Manchin 50 Room 151R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.coM(304) 340-3331
Bill Flanigan 51 Room 218E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 bill.flanigan@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3153
Barbara Evans Fleischauer 51 Room 231E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 barbaraf@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3127
Cindy Frich 51 Room 205E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 cindy.frich@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3125
Brian Kurcaba 51 Room 220E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 brian.kurcaba@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3173
Joe Statler 51 Room 220E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 joe.statler@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3900
Steven Shaffer 52 Room 6RA Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 steve.shaffer@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3160
Randy E. Smith 53 Room 201E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 randy.smith@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3396
Allen V. Evans 54 Room 216E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 allen.evans@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3399
Isaac Sponaugle 55 Room 6R-A Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3154
Gary G. Howell 56 Room 213E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 gary.howell@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3192
Ruth Rowan 57 Room 210E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 ruth.rowan@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3157
Daryl Cowles 58 Room 228M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3220
Saira Blair 59 Room 219E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 saira.blair@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3122
Larry Faircloth 60 Room 225E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 larry.faircloth@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3147
Walter Duke 61 Room 442M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 walter.duke@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3188
John Overington 62 Room 214E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 john@overington.coM(304) 340-3148
Michael Folk 63 Room 229E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 michael.folk@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3350
Eric L. Householder 64 Room 472M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 eric.householder@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3274
Jill Upson 65 Room 219E Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 jill.upson@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3366
Paul Espinosa 66 Room 434M Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3130
Stephen Skinner 67 Room 150R Bldg. 1 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E. Charleston WV 25305 stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov (304) 340-3248

Robert Ray

Robert is the founder of The Original Motto Project. He is a avid secular activist that likes to dabble into small electronics in his spare time. He and his wife Amy co-host the Secular Yakking podcast. He lives in the Puget sound with his wife and 3 daughters.